In last month’s shoplifting article, we discussed effective defenses against the crime. Now, we want to explore what might happen if you don’t fight these charges in court.
Nevada takes shoplifting charges seriously. At the low end, the crime is a misdemeanor. On the opposite extreme, it can be charged as a felony.
Before, going forward, let’s discuss the differences between these two criminal categories.
Misdemeanors vs. Felonies
Typically, states have three levels of criminal charges: infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. Infractions are the lowest crimes, often punished with fines, community service, or minor probationary obligations.
Misdemeanors are the “middle” crime. People often make the mistake of dismissing misdemeanors as minor crimes. This way of thinking is a mistake.
Even the lowest-level misdemeanors, those that do not come with jail time, stay on your record. When someone does a background check, they may not see that you served a menial sentence. They will simply see a misdemeanor, and this could affect your ability to get a job, housing, and more.
Felonies are the most severe crimes. Lower-level felonies can be sentenced like misdemeanors, but the highest-level felonies could result in life imprisonment.
Depending on the circumstances, Nevada will charge shoplifting as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
Misdemeanor Shoplifting in Nevada
Nevada values its shoplifting crimes according to the value of the allegedly stolen merchandise.
If the total of the shoplifted items is less than $1,200, the state will charge the offender with a misdemeanor. This can result in up to 6 months in jail with fines as high as $1,000 and a possible court-ordered restitution.
Felony Shoplifting in Nevada
Once the value of the items goes over $1,200, penalties become more severe. At this point, the state charges offenders with a felony. The more valuable the merchandise, the steeper the penalties.
Nevada’s Felony Shoplifting Penalties
Merchandise Between $1,200 and $4,999
Category D felony; prison from 1 to 4 years; restitution; fines up to $5,000
Merchandise Between $5,000 and $24,999
Category C felony; prison from 1 to 5 years; restitution; fines up to $10,000
Merchandise Between $25,000 and $9,999
Category B felony; prison from 1 to 10 years; restitution; fines up to $10,000
Merchandise Valued at $100,000 or More
Category B felony; prison from 1 to 20 years; restitution; fines up to $15,000
Grand larceny is a deportable offense. In legal terms, “Larceny” is the word for “theft,” and “grand” indicates theft to a high degree. Nevada’s grand larceny standard begins at $1,200 or more.
If you’ve been accused of shoplifting, your immigration status could be in trouble. Make sure to contact a good attorney right away to help preserve your right to stay in the states.
Our Firm Is Here to Help
We know that everyone in our country is innocent until proven guilty. We are here to help preserve that innocence. The state’s job is to prove your case beyond a reasonable doubt. We will use our investigative skills to help uncover holes in their accusations against you. If there is any doubt about your guilt, you should be allowed to go free, and we want to help make that a reality for you.
For a free consultation, call us right away at (775) 502-1575. You can also schedule time with us online.