Reno Domestic Battery Lawyer
Nevada Domestic Battery Penalties
Many people aren't aware of it, but Nevada's prosecution of domestic violence
is incredibly intense and officers have very little discretion in how
they approach the situation. In Nevada, when the police arrive at the
scene of domestic dispute, an arrest is almost always made.
- In addition, any of the following can be tried for domestic battery in Nevada:
- Family members
- Former dating relationships
- Former roommates
Unless there are mitigating circumstances, an officer will always make an
arrest, and much of the time they aren't looking for mitigating circumstances.
This includes situations where the victim doesn't want the aggressor arrested.
Like with other criminal charges, if a prosecutor thinks he can prove the
case, they have to move forward. There's a mandatory minimum of six months
of anger management for a conviction in addition to losing the right to
possess firearms. It's worth pointing out that if there's any offense
that involves grabbing an individual by the neck, the charge jumps up
to a felony for domestic strangulation.
If you’ve been accused, do not hesitate to
contact the Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover to discuss your situation.
Reno Domestic Battery Penalties
A judge will decide the appropriate sentence if the defendant is found
guilty of domestic battery. Before that, however, the victim will have
the opportunity to speak with the court about the defendant and his or
her impact on the victim.
Penalties For First Offense
- The Washoe County Jail will hold you for at least two days and not more
than six months.
- Community service of at least 48 hours, but no more than 120 hours.
- Fines of at least $200 plus assessments, but not more than $1,000.
- For a period of not less than 6 months, but not more than 12 months, the
defendant must attend weekly domestic violence counseling sessions of
not less than 1.5 hours per week.
- A fee of $35 is charged for domestic violence assessments.
Penalties For Second Offense Within Seven Years
- A minimum of 10 days, but not more than 6 months, in the Washoe County Jail.
- A minimum of 100 hours, but not more than 200 hours, of community service.
- A minimum fine of $500 plus assessments, but not more than $1,000 plus
- At the defendant's expense, the defendant must participate in domestic
violence counseling sessions of at least 1.5 hours per week for at least
- $35 domestic violence assessment fee.
Penalties For Third Offense Within Seven Years
- An offense classified as a category C felony punishable by probation or
imprisonment in the Nevada State Prison for not less than a year and not
more than five years.
- Not more than $10,000 in fines.
Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover Domestic Violence Legal Counsel
When Reno domestic violence defense firm the
Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover approaches these types of cases, he takes a holistic approach to defense.
As a former Reno and Sparks special prosecutor, a former deputy district
attorney of Lander and Lyon County, and a recently appointed special prosecutor
for the City of Reno and the City of Sparks to prosecute these specific
issues, Attorney Stover is always looking to take his experience from
more than 25 years of
criminal defense work to resolve a case before a trial.
As a lawyer,
Attorney Stover can work with court-appointed victims' advocates to help build the defense
with written statements and do everything possible to protect the rights
and interests of the family, not just the defendant.
To discuss any battery issue during a
free initial consultation with our Reno domestic violence lawyer call (775) 502-1575.