Reno DUI Lawyer
Facing Charges for Driving Under the Influence?
Don't risk your future due to a simple mistake! The consequences of a DUI
charge in Reno and throughout Nevada are extremely severe. If you are
pulled over and a preliminary breath test (PBT) reads positive for .08
blood alcohol content (BAC) or higher, you will be arrested for DUI. Do
not face these severe penalties alone, you need a skilled Reno DUI defense
attorney to protect your rights.
Your driving privileges and your freedom are on the line. You can't afford
to go meekly to your fate. Our dedicated Reno DUI lawyer has been practicing
law in Nevada for
more than 25 years, where four of those years were spent as a prosecutor in rural Nevada.
We know what the prosecution needs to bring a legitimate case against
you and how to counter it. Don't let a simple mistake destroy your life. Let
the Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover help.
Contact our DUI lawyer in Reno, NV online to discuss your case today.
Nevada DUI Laws
In Nevada, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of
0.08 percent or higher. However, the BAC limit for commercial drivers
is .04 percent, while ht elimie for drivers who are under 21 years of
age is .02 percent.
The laws for driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) are found in the
Nevada Revised Statutes. Under the statute, a person can be charged with
DUID if they have a detectable level of certain types of drugs or their
metabolites in their system while operating a motor vehicle. This includes
illegal drugs, prescription and over-the-counter medications as well as
certain substances such as marijuana and alcohol.
What Penalties Might I Face for a DUI?
Other states have a right to a jury trial for a misdemeanor DUI. Nevada
only allows a jury trial in a
felony DUI case. If a prosecuting attorney believes he or she can prove a case, he
or she is obligated to move forward.
- Consequences of a Conviction can include:
- 2 days to 6 months in jail OR 48 - 96 hours of community service
- Nevada DUI school
- $400 to $1,000 fine + court costs
- Mandatory alcohol or drug abuse treatment program
- Breath interlock device in your car for 3 - 36 months
- 90-day suspension of your driver's license + $35 civil penalty fee
Nevada also has a zero tolerance policy for marijuana. A
drug DUI charge can be filed even if you have incredibly low limits of THC within
Hire an Experienced DUI Lawyer in Reno, NV
Our job is to get your charges reduced or get an outright dismissal of
your case. We have an
in-depth understanding of toxicology, probable cause, and DUI procedure. Attorney Ken Stover
served on the state bar faculty and he teaches lawyers, police officers,
and judges about DUI law.
There is no DUI case for which he is not prepared, including those involving
drunk driving-related deaths.
Call our Reno DUI lawyer at (775) 502-1575 to schedule your
FREE initial consultation regarding case.