Schedule a Free Consultation

775.502.1575
woods background image

We Want to Make Your Bad Situation Better

Welcome to Our Blog

  • Decrease in Crimes in Reno During COVID-19 Outbreak

    The World Health Organization (WHO) declared the COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic on March 11, 2020. In order to curb the spread of the coronavirus throughout Nevada, Governor Steve Sisolak issued a statewide stay-at-home order on April 1, requiring residents to stay at home and nonessential businesses to close until further notice. Since many businesses are closed and people are not out as much, the ...
    Continue Reading
  • COVID-19 & Nevada Criminal Courts

    The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted many aspects of life in Nevada, including the court system. In order to prevent the spread of the coronavirus in courthouses and offices throughout the state, the courts have issued their own social distancing guidelines in compliance with the statewide stay-at-home order. On March 13, 2020, the Clark County District Court suspended and rescheduled all civil and ...
    Continue Reading
  • What Happens If I Violate the Nevada Stay-at-Home Order?

    On April 1, 2020, Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak issued a statewide stay-at-home order, forcing residents to stay home each and every day, and non-essential businesses to close their doors until further notice. Unfortunately, many owners depend on their businesses to support their families, which is why some non-essential businesses have remained open despite the stay-at-home order. So, what ...
    Continue Reading
  • What Happens If I Violate a Restraining Order in NV?

    When a person has been arrested for allegedly committing a domestic violence offense in Nevada, he/she may also be subject to a restraining order filed by the alleged victim. Also known as protective orders, restraining orders generally prohibit contact between both parties, order the alleged offender to stay away from the alleged victim’s home, workplace, school, or any other location he/she ...
    Continue Reading
  • Mandatory Arrest Law in NV Domestic Battery Cases

    Domestic battery , also known as domestic violence, is one of the most charged crimes in Nevada. The main reason why is because the state has a “mandatory arrest law.” According to NRS 171.137, if a police officer has probable cause – unless mitigating circumstances are present – to believe someone has committed domestic battery within the past 24 hours, the officer must arrest the alleged primary ...
    Continue Reading
  • Get I Get My DUI Charge Reduced in Nevada?

    A DUI is a serious offense in Nevada. Not only does getting convicted lead to serious penalties like driver’s license suspension, fines, and even jail time, but it also results in a criminal record that can negatively affect your life post-conviction. You may be wondering if it is possible to get a DUI charge reduced to a lesser charge. While the answer is “yes,” getting a DUI charge reduced is ...
    Continue Reading
  • Aggravating Factors in a First-Time DUI in NV

    A first DUI offense in Nevada carries a maximum jail sentence of six months (although the court may suspend the sentence or order up to 96 hours of community service), a fine of up to $1,000, and driver’s license revocation for at least 185 days. However, if there are any aggravating factors, a first-time DUI can lead to harsher penalties and even a felony charge. The following are common ...
    Continue Reading
  • New Nevada Laws in 2020

    Along with a new year and a new decade in Nevada, many new laws took effect on January 1, 2020. Some of these new laws made additions and changes to the state’s criminal justice system. The following are several new Nevada criminal laws in 2020: Guns – Under AB 291, family members may ask the court to keep guns out of the hands of people who are a danger to themselves or others. The new ...
    Continue Reading
  • Viable Domestic Battery Defenses

    A charge of domestic battery is not a conviction. While the arrest can be extremely emotional and traumatic, defendants should not give up hope. There are reasonable explanations that can either shift a domestic battery claim or create enough reasonable doubt to avoid conviction. A few viable domestic battery defenses include: Self Defense Domestic violence is a two-way street in some ...
    Continue Reading
  • Can You Be Arrested While Under 0.08%

    Even if you’re careful with your drinking, it can seem like some people are out to get you. If you ever find yourself pulled over while clearly under the legal limit of 0.08% BAC, you may be surprised when a police officer asks you to step out of the vehicle. If that happens to you, you may wonder whether you can be arrested while under 0.08%? Under Arrest Implied consent law says that you once ...
    Continue Reading
  • Can a Drunk Driver Who Causes a Fatal Crash Face Murder Charges?

    Let’s say Reginald went out one night and had a few drinks. Unfortunately, although his normal faculties were impaired, he decided to get behind the wheel and drive home. During the trip, he ran a red light and crashed into another vehicle crossing the intersection. Sadly, the other driver was killed. After reviewing Reginald’s situation, the prosecutor decided to charge him with second-degree ...
    Continue Reading
  • The Penalties for Being an Ex-Felon in Possession of a Gun

    Besides jail time and fines, being convicted of a felony can have a number of long-term consequences. One of the punishments you can face is having your gun rights restricted. That means, although the Constitution guarantees the right to bear arms, you, as a convicted felon, would not be able to exercise this right. If you violate the law, you could be facing a prison sentence and fines. What Law ...
    Continue Reading
  • When Borrowing a Car Could Lead to Theft Charges

    Say you’re driving down the highway when you notice the lights of a police car flashing in your rearview mirror. You look down at your speedometer and see that you’re going around 10 mph over the speed limit. You pull over for the officer and expect to be cited for the traffic offense, but a little while later you find yourself arrested on suspicion of driving a stolen vehicle. How could that ...
    Continue Reading
  • Can I Be Charged with Assault that Happened Over 1 Year Ago?

    Nevada, as in all other states, has what is called the statute of limitations that place deadlines on when the prosecution can file charges against a person alleged to have committed a crime. If they try to prosecute the matter outside of that time period, the case may be dismissed. The statute of limitations applies to felonies and misdemeanors, including assault. Whether or not you can be ...
    Continue Reading
  • Burglary Is a Crime, and so Is Possessing Tools to Commit It

    In Nevada, if a person breaks into a structure or vehicle to commit a crime, they could be charged with burglary. If they're stopped before actually getting to the place they plan to unlawfully enter, and specific items are found on them, they could be prosecuted for possessing burglary tools. Nevada’s Burglary Law Let’s say Priscilla was walking down the street, looked into the open window of ...
    Continue Reading
Page of 5