Reno Assault Lawyer
Defending Clients Who Are Facing Assault Charges in Nevada
Even though physical violence may not be involved in your case, assault
charges are considered
violent crimes and are taken very seriously by both law enforcement and prosecutors. At the
Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover, Attorney Stover is a
former prosecutor who is well-versed in how the state handles these cases and what can be
done to ensure that defendant receives every consideration they deserve.
Penalties for Assault Charges in Nevada
The seriousness of an assault charge depends on the circumstances of the
incident. Simple assault, for example, is the basic charge which involves
no aggravating factors. There are also assault charges that involved victims
of "protected classes" (such as law enforcement officers) and
assault with a deadly weapon.
Assault charges can result in the following:
Simple Assault - up to $1,000 in fines and/or six months in jail
Protected Class Assault - up to $2,000 in fines and/or one year in prison
Assault with a Deadly Weapon - up to $5,000 in fines and/or six years in prison
If the defendant in an assault case is an inmate or on
probation or parole, they may be exposed to tougher penalties.
Contact Our Reno Assault Attorney Today
If you have been charged with assault, then it is crucial that you speak
with a capable
criminal defense attorney immediately.
NRS 200.471 defines assault as intentionally threatening to hurt another person.
Despite what many people think, assault doesn't include the actual, physical
touching of another person. A suspect can be convicted of assault as long
as the prosecution can prove that they had the intent to harm another person.
Have you been accused of assault? Call Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover today at (775) 502-1575 or
contact us online to schedule a
free consultation with our Reno assault lawyer.