Skip to Content
Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover
call today 775-502-1575

Getting a Restricted Driver's License After a NV DUI

Let us make your bad situation better.

Getting a Restricted Driver's License After a NV DUI


Getting arrested for DUI in Nevada can result in the revocation of your driver’s license – even before you are convicted of the offense. Without your driving privileges, simple tasks such as driving to work or school, visiting the doctor’s office, running household chores, or even fulfilling your court-ordered child visitation can be more strenuous because you now have to rely on public transportation and/or loved ones for a ride everywhere you go.

Fortunately, the Nevada DMV gives DUI defendants an opportunity to obtain a “restricted license,” which allows them to drive and perform essential tasks. While first-time DUI offenders can get a restricted license within 90 days of their 185-day license revocation, felony DUI offenders can obtain theirs within one year of their three-year license revocation.

A restricted license allows DUI defendants to drive to and from:

  1. Work or while performing job duties

  2. School or college, either to attend classes or drop off their children

  3. Medical appointments for a specific health condition

  4. The grocery store

  5. Child visitation ordered by the court

To obtain a restricted license, you must contact the DMV and then press options directing you toward applying for one. The agent will ask for your driver's license number and if you are required to get an SR 22 insurance form.

If you need an SR 22 form, you must contact your auto insurance company and obtain the form. Then, you will need to complete the “Nevada DMV Restricted License Application” and submit the application. According to directions on the application, you will need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle and have it verified by the DMV.

The DMV will confirm your information on the application with your employer. If you are approved, you may obtain a restricted driver’s license from a full-service DMW.

Remember, you may submit a restricted license application when you have reached 75 days into your suspension. In that case, the DMV can process your application in time to receive your restricted license in 90 days.

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Reno, contact the Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover today and let a former prosecutor defend you inside and outside the courtroom.

Share To: