Cocaine is a popular recreational drug in Nevada, especially in Las Vegas and Reno where casinos, bars, and clubs are open throughout the night until the early morning hours. Coke or blow is often snorted and the short and temporary effects include intense bliss, decrease in appetite, extreme sensibility to sight, sound, and touch, as well as irritability.
However, the drug is illegal in the United States. According to Nevada law, cocaine is a Schedule II controlled substance, which means it is highly addictive and has limited medical use.
Simple possession of less than 14 grams of cocaine is a Category E felony, which is the least serious felony class and carries a maximum state prison sentence of four years and a fine not exceeding $5,000. However, if you plead guilty or no contest, the court will grant you a “deferral of judgment,” meaning your criminal charges will be dismissed if you complete certain court-ordered conditions (e.g., drug treatment/rehabilitation, court hearings, random drug testing, etc.).
Deferral of judgment is generally granted to first-time offenders. On the other hand, the District Attorney may reduce the felony charge down to a misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail term of six months and a fine no more than $1,000.
Otherwise, Category E convictions in Nevada are punishable by probation and a suspended sentence. Yet, if you have at least two prior felony convictions, you may have to serve the prison sentence.
In addition, possession with intent to sell cocaine is a Category D felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to four years and a maximum fine of $5,000 – with no opportunity for a deferral of judgment. Selling, transporting, or manufacturing cocaine is a Category C felony, which can result in a prison term of up to five years and a maximum fine of $10,000.