Nevada law defines indecent exposure as showing your own or someone else’s private parts in a public or private area.
Men are often charged with this crime for urinating in public, while women are typically charged for exposing their breasts (only when they’re not feeding a child). However, people engaged in sexual activity in public can also be charged with indecent exposure.
A first offense is considered a gross misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 364-day jail sentence and/or a fine of up to $2,000. For a second or subsequent offense, it is a category D felony, punishable by a prison sentence of up to four years and/or a fine not exceeding $5,000. If the crime was committed in the presence of a minor child under 18 years of age or a disabled individual, it is a category D felony for a first offense.
Common related crimes include:
- Public urination
- Disorderly conduct
- Open or gross lewdness
In addition, those convicted of indecent exposure in Nevada must register as a sex offender. Keep in mind, convicted individuals are usually classified as Tier I offenders, meaning they cannot be searched in the state’s sex offender registry.
If you have been charged with indecent exposure in Reno, whether you are a resident or a tourist, our experienced criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover can help you either get your case dismissed or avoid serving jail time. For more information, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.