Schedule a Free Consultation

775.502.1575

We Want to Make Your Bad Situation Better

How Nevada Law Defines Domestic Violence

Each state defines crimes a little differently, including domestic violence. Nevada law, for example, describes domestic violence as a violent crime committed by persons with whom the victims share certain personal or familial relationships.

These law apply to current and former spouses, people related by blood or marriage, people who currently or formerly lived together, people who are or were dating, people who have a child in common, the minor child of any of these people, or a person appointed legal guardian for the minor child of any of these people.

Likewise, “violent crime” could be any of a number of other offenses, such as the following:

  1. Battery
  2. Assault
  3. Sexual assault
  4. Engaging in knowing, purposeful, or reckless conduct designed to harass the victim
  5. False imprisonment
  6. Unlawful entry into the victim’s home against the victim’s will
  7. Compelling a victim through force or threat to perform an act the victim has a right to refuse performing or through force or threat to prevent a victim from doing something he or she has a right to do

Someone convicted of domestic violence is guilty of a misdemeanor if the defendant has no other domestic violence battery convictions within the last 7 years. The punishment includes 2 days to 6 months in jail, 48 to 120 hours of community service, and a fine ranging from $200 to $1,000. A second conviction within a 7-year period will face harsher punishments, including 10 days to 6 months in jail, 100 hours of community service, and a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000.

Both types of convictions will likely lead to mandatory participation in domestic violence counseling. Likewise, if the victim was a child, the defendant will probably have to pay the cost of counseling for that child.

A 3rd conviction is automatically a Class C felony. If convicted, the defendant could serve 1 to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Likewise, even if it is a 1st-time offense, domestic violence involving strangulation would be a Class C felony and might result in a fine of up to $15,000.

If you are accused of domestic battery, the best thing you can do for yourself is to hire a skilled Reno criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. The Law Offices of Kenneth A. Stover is here to help. Attorney Stover has more than 20 years of legal experience to offer your case.

Get started by calling us at (775) 502-1575 or filling out our online form today.

Categories